Seyit UYGUR {Ebru Artist}

http://http://vimeo.com/24709888

Uygur, O. (Director). (2011). Seyit UYGUR { Ebru Artist } [Motion picture].

From the moment I began watching this video I wanted to know what the end product would be. So much so, in fact, that more than once I considered even fast forwarding to see what the goal of this strange practice was. I found myself so concerned with the big picture, that the miraculousness and divinity of the detailed work that the artist was doing was nearly lost on me. I too am a capitalist pig, who places value on the tangible outcome, rather than on the process, the trials and tribulations, that make art what it is.

But does that even really matter? Should my context define what I understand the meaning of such a piece to be? does art mean anything without consideration of the process? Surely artful things are objects that take an abundance of time and energy to manufacture. But by those standards, my calculus homework is the most artful thing I’ve ever created, and surely that doesn’t sound quite right.

xoxo, Feli

Leave a comment